Myanmar Net Raises CANAL+ Bundle Prices From October 2026 — Its Third Price or Fee Change This Year

Myanmar Net, the consumer broadband brand of Frontiir International Company Limited, has told customers it is raising prices on its Postpaid CANAL+ bundled internet plans effective 1 October 2026. The change is laid out in an announcement on the company’s own site, published on myanmarnet.com, whose heading is dated 15 September 2026. Taken alone, it is a small notice — a few thousand kyats added to two plan tiers. Taken alongside Myanmar Net’s other announcements this year, it is the third time in 2026 that the company has changed what customers pay to get and keep an internet connection, and none of the three notices has explained why.

What Exactly Is Changing on 1 October 2026

According to the announcement, two Postpaid CANAL+ bundle tiers are affected:

  • The 24 Mbps TV & Phone plan rises from 44,500 to 46,500 Kyats/month, an increase of about 4.5%.
  • The 10 Mbps Phone plan rises from 26,500 to 27,500 Kyats/month, an increase of about 3.8%.

These are Myanmar Net’s plans that bundle home broadband with a CANAL+ television package, so part of what the subscriber pays for is pay-TV content rather than connectivity alone. The new rates apply from the October 2026 billing cycle. Beyond stating the new figures and effective date, the announcement does not explain what is driving the increase; it closes with a general thank-you note to customers, which is the same pattern seen in Myanmar Net’s two earlier 2026 announcements.

This Is Not an Isolated Notice — Three Changes in Eight Months

Reading Myanmar Net’s announcement page in order shows a pattern rather than a one-off adjustment:

  1. 25 February 2026 — Myanmar Net set its installation fee at 32,000 MMK, effective 1 March 2026. The notice calls this an “adjustment” but does not state what the fee was before, so the size of the change cannot be confirmed from the notice alone. It offered three ways to pay: eight installments of 4,000 MMK, a 30,000 MMK one-time payment, or a waived fee for customers who prepay six months or a year of service.
  2. 31 March 2026 — Myanmar Net announced a broader speed-and-price change across its Myanmar Net, Myanmar Net Plus, Myanmar Net Biz, Myanmar Net Biz+ (fiber), Frontiir SLA and Frontiir BIZ SLA tiers, with increases ranging from 1,000–1,500 MMK a month on the entry-level home plans to as much as 60,000 MMK on the largest business plans (1,040,000 to 1,100,000 MMK). The home tiers came with small speed bumps (for example, 3.2 Mbps to 3.4 Mbps on the cheapest plan), while the business tiers listed the same speeds at the new, higher prices. New customers were billed at the new rates from April 2026, and existing customers from the May 2026 billing cycle.
  3. 15 September 2026 — the CANAL+ bundle price increase covered in this article, effective 1 October 2026.

Three separate price or fee changes inside eight months, from one ISP, is enough of a pattern that it is worth treating as a story about direction, not just about two plan tiers going up by a thousand or two thousand kyats.

What None of the Announcements Say

None of Myanmar Net’s three 2026 notices states a reason for the change. That absence is itself worth flagging, because it leaves several plausible explanations open rather than confirmed. Readers should treat all of the following as open questions the company’s own announcements do not answer — not as established facts:

  • Content-licensing costs. CANAL+ bundles specifically are the ones going up this time, which raises the question of whether the cost of the underlying CANAL+ content agreement has changed. Myanmar Net has not said so.
  • Equipment and import costs. Routers, network hardware and other imported equipment used to build and maintain fixed broadband networks are typically priced or sourced internationally. Whether import costs are a factor here is not stated anywhere in the announcements.
  • Currency pressure. Myanmar’s official kyat exchange rate and the rate people and businesses actually transact at have diverged in recent years. Whether that gap is playing any role in Myanmar Net’s costs is a fair question to ask — but Myanmar Net has not linked its price changes to currency at all.
  • Catching up after a period of holding prices steady. It is possible the company held prices during an earlier period of instability and is now normalizing them in stages. Nothing in the announcements confirms or denies this either.

The point is not to pick one of these explanations and present it as the answer — the point is that a company raising prices three times in eight months, each time without saying why, leaves its own customers to guess. That is a reasonable thing for subscribers to push back on when they contact support.

What This Means If You’re a CANAL+ Bundle Subscriber

If you are on either the 24 Mbps TV & Phone or 10 Mbps Phone CANAL+ postpaid plan, here is what is concretely known and what is worth doing before the change takes effect:

  • Check your October bill. The new rates apply from the 1 October 2026 billing cycle, so the first bill reflecting 46,500 MMK (24 Mbps) or 27,500 MMK (10 Mbps) should arrive for that cycle. Confirm the amount matches what was announced.
  • Decide whether the CANAL+ bundle is still worth it to you. The announcement covers bundled plans specifically; it does not state whether non-bundle, internet-only plans are affected by the same increase. If you mainly want the internet connection and use CANAL+ only occasionally, it is worth asking Myanmar Net directly whether switching to a plain internet plan would cost less, since that detail is not in the public announcement.
  • Ask Myanmar Net what changed. Given that none of the three 2026 announcements states a reason, subscribers who want an explanation — rather than just a new number — will need to ask support directly rather than expect it in the notice itself.
  • Watch for a pattern, not just this one change. Given three adjustments in 2026 alone, it would be reasonable to ask Myanmar Net whether further changes are planned, even though nothing beyond the October CANAL+ increase has been announced as of this writing.

How This Fits Into Myanmar’s Broader Connectivity Cost Picture

It is worth being precise about what kind of connectivity this is: Myanmar Net’s CANAL+ bundles are fixed broadband plans, delivered to a home or business address, not mobile data. Myanmar Tech Press maintains a separate, regularly updated page tracking mobile data prices from MPT, ATOM and U9 (formerly Ooredoo) — that page does not cover fixed broadband providers like Myanmar Net, and this article does not attempt to compare the two directly, since they are different products with different cost structures. Whether other fixed broadband providers follow Myanmar Net’s direction over the coming months is the more useful thing to watch; a single ISP’s notices cannot tell us whether this is a sector-wide trend.

For readers wanting background on Frontiir as a company, Myanmar Tech Press covered Myanmar’s internet service provider landscape, including Frontiir, in an earlier piece from 2017 — useful context on where the company sat among the country’s ISPs, though it long predates the 2026 price changes discussed here.

Frequently Asked Questions

When does the Myanmar Net CANAL+ price increase take effect?
1 October 2026, according to Myanmar Net’s own announcement. The new rates apply from that billing cycle.

How much are CANAL+ bundle prices going up?
The 24 Mbps TV & Phone plan rises from 44,500 to 46,500 Kyats/month. The 10 Mbps Phone plan rises from 26,500 to 27,500 Kyats/month.

Why is Myanmar Net raising CANAL+ bundle prices?
The company’s announcement does not state a reason. This is consistent with its two earlier 2026 price/fee announcements (installation fee in February, broader speed-and-price change in March/April), neither of which gave a reason either.

Is this Myanmar Net’s first price change in 2026?
No. It is the third announced change: an installation-fee adjustment to 32,000 MMK took effect 1 March 2026, and a broader speed-and-price change across most of Myanmar Net’s consumer and business tiers took effect for billing from April/May 2026.

Does this affect Myanmar Net plans that don’t include CANAL+?
The announcement specifically names Postpaid CANAL+ bundle plans. It does not state whether non-bundle, internet-only plans are affected; subscribers on other plans should confirm directly with Myanmar Net.

Is this related to Myanmar’s exchange rate?
Not according to anything Myanmar Net has published — the company has not linked its 2026 price changes to currency at all. Myanmar’s official exchange rate and the rates people and businesses actually face have diverged in recent years, which is a fair question to raise, but there is no confirmed source connecting that gap to this specific price change, so it should be treated as an open question rather than a stated cause.

The Takeaway

On its own, a 1,000-to-2,000-kyat increase on two broadband bundle tiers is a minor administrative notice. What makes it worth covering is that it is the third such notice from the same company within eight months, and that — like the two before it — it does not say why. For subscribers, the practical steps are straightforward: check the October bill matches the announced figures, weigh whether the CANAL+ bundle is still the right plan, and ask Myanmar Net directly for the explanation its announcements don’t provide. For anyone watching Myanmar’s broadband market more broadly, the pattern of repeated, unexplained price changes is arguably the more interesting story than any single price change.

One small editorial note on sourcing: the primary source page’s web address (URL) still contains the text “24-august-2026,” which appears to be a leftover from an earlier draft of the page, while the heading printed on the page itself reads “(15-September-2026).” This article uses the date printed in the page’s own heading, since that is the more reliable signal on a self-published company announcement page.


Sources: Myanmar Net, “Price Adjustment for Myanmar Net Plans with CANAL+ Access” (page dated 15 September 2026, accessed 23 September 2026) — CANAL+ bundle price increase effective 1 October 2026. Myanmar Net, “Internet Price Change Announcement” (31 March 2026) — speed/price change across consumer and business tiers. Myanmar Net, “Announcement on Internet Installation Fee Adjustment” (25 February 2026) — installation fee set at 32,000 MMK. See also Myanmar Tech Press, Myanmar Mobile Data Prices and Myanmar’s Internet Service Providers.